2015 Results and Gallery

Many thanks to our official photographer Cam Leitch and his assistant Sue Leitch who have volunteered their time for the duration of the competition to bring you these photographs.  More photos, media, reviews, testimonials etc. available on 2015 Celebrations page.

High Resolution photographs are available to entrants free of charge, by emailing office@acvc.com.au, or by sending us a message here.

[mediagrid cat=”35″ title_under=”1″ filter=”1″]

Section 4 – Vocal
sponsored by Jorgensen School of Music & Tutoring – 1st $500 | $2nd $300 | 3rd $200

[table colwidth = 20%|80%]
1st,Bronwyn Douglass (Vocal – Townsville)
2nd, Ainslee Jones (Vocal – Townsville)
3rd, Anita Parakh-Morgan (Vocal – Brisbane)
Highly Commended, Kathleen Campbell (Vocal – Mackay)

Special Awards:
Arties’ Music Encouragement Award $50

Bianca Bacchiella (Vocal – Townsville)
Jake Watson (Vocal – Townsville)

Rev Norton Challenor ‘Most Promising Vocalist’ $250
& Perpetual Trophy’

Kevin Price (Vocal – Townsville)


Section 5 – Young Performer Soloists
Townsville & District Music Teachers Association Prize – 1st $100 | 2nd $75 | 3rd $50

[table colwidth = 20%|80%]
Place, Performer
1st, Benett Tsai (Violoncello – Sydney)
2nd, Sarah Hooton (Violin – Cairns)
3rd, Olivia Adcock (Double Bass – Townsville)
Highly Commended, Ryouo (Sarah) Wang (Violin – Sydney)

Special Award:
Youth Development Award sponsored by Mrs Dinie Gaemers, Arties Music and Australian Festival of Chamber Music $400+

Jasmine Lee (Violin – Townsville)

Arties’ Music Encouragement Award $50

Florence Cappler-Shillington (Violin – Townsville)


Section 6 – School Ensembles
Townsville City Council Prize – 1st $400 | 2nd $300 | 3rd $200 | 4th $100

[table colwidth = 20%|80%]
Place, Performer
1st,Kirwan Y12 Vocal Ensemble (Kirwan State High School)
2nd, St Margaret Mary’s Guitar Ensemble (St Margaret Mary’s College)
3rd, Pimlico String Quartet (Pimlico State High School)
4th, Pimlico Saxaphone Quartet (Pimlico State High School)
Highly Commended, Tre Belle Piano Trio (Pimlico State High School)


Section 3 – Piano & Instrumental
Loloma Jewellers Prize – 1st $500 | 2nd $300 | 3rd $200

[table colwidth = 20%|80%]
Place, Performer
1st, James Dong (Violin – Melbourne)
2nd,Benett Tsai (Violoncello – Sydney)
3rd, Brijette Tubb (Flute – Brisbane)

Special Award:
Arties’ Music Encouragement Award $50

Jasmine Lee (violin – Townsville)


Section 2 – Open Vocal
sponsored by NQ Employment – 1st $1500 | 2nd $1000 | 3rd $500

Place, Performer
1st, Bronwyn Douglass (Vocal – Townsville)
2nd, Morgan Jones (Vocal – Brisbane)
3rd, Cassandra Wright (Vocal – Brisbane)

Special Award:
Audience Choice Award sponsored by Susan Grinsell Singing Studio $300

Bronwyn Douglass


Section 1 – Open Instrumental

1st Prize – sponsored by Townsville City Council $4000
winner also receives the John Hopkins Performance Fellowship Award – Value $1000+
2nd Prize – sponsored jointly by Townsville City Council & Australian Concerto & Vocal Competition -Dr Bill Williams OBE Memorial Prize $2000
3rd Prize – sponsored by Parry NQ $1000

[table colwidth = 20%|80%]
Place, Performer
1st, Arthur James Athan (Piano – Melbourne)
2nd, Josephine Chung (Violin – Sydney)
3rd, Jo Dee Yeoh (Violoncello – Melbourne)

Special Awards:
Most Promising String Player sponsored by AUSTA (NQ) $250

Benett Tsai (Violoncello – Sydney)

Most Promising Musician from Nth Qld ‘Joy Rutledge Award’ sponsored by Dinie Gaemers $500

Andrew Fong (Clarinet – Townsville)

Most Promising Pianist ‘Frank Carroll Memorial Award’ sponsored by Anne Brook-Wagner and Alan Stephenson $250

Nathaniel Kong (Piano – Sydney)

Most Promising Brass/Woodwind Award sponsored by Angeline Bourne Woodwind & Brass $250

Lina Heeseung Park (Flute – Melbourne)

Audience Choice Award sponsored by tripleT Classic Music Team $300

Arthur James Athan (Piano – Melbourne)

Leave a Reply